Grenada County
Sheriff's Office
Grenada, Mississippi
Mobile Version
County Officials

History of Grenada County, Mississippi

The earliest known settlers of Grenada County were missionaries who formed an Indian mission school around 1815 in the current town of Elliott. In 1830, the United States government purchased land from the Choctaw and Chickasaw Indians in the Treaty of Dancing Rabbit Creek. It was much of these lands acquired in this treaty that present day Grenada County was formed.

The first town to be organized was Chocchuma, where the land office was located. In 1833 land began to be sold and eventually two rival towns came into ownership of choice sites of land along the Yalobusha River, one called Tullahoma and one Pittsburg. These towns were separated by a section line which is present day Line Street in Grenada. The towns became such bitter rivals that on July 4, 1836, the city of Grenada was formed by the marriage of the two towns .

Grenada County was not actually formed, however, until May 9, 1870 by an act of legislature. Through this act, Governor Alcorn appointed five men to make up the first Board of Supervisors for the county, one from each district; J. D. Leflore, Dr. John L. Milton, F. P. Ingram, Andrew Davis and Freelon Townes. The board elected J. D. Leflore as President with Dr. Milton being elected Secretary. Grenada county was utlimately formed from parts of Carroll, Choctaw, Tallahatchie, and Yalobusha counties.

In the early 1800s goods were transported to Grenada primarily via the Yalobusha River. By July, 1860, rail transportation reached Grenada County, operated by the Mississippi Central Railroad.

During the Civil War the area was strategic because of its geographical location and its rail facilities. No major battles were fought in the area, however, but Federal troops were assigned to occupy the town of Grenada and control the railroad. Three Confederate companies furnished by Grenada County included the Grenada Rifles, Captain W.S. Stratham; Stanford's Battery, Captain Tom Stanford; and The Wigfall Guards, Captain Gage.

Current Grenada County Board of Supervisors

 (Left to Right) Michael Lott-District 1, Chad Bridges-District 2, Darryl Robinson-District 4, Chad Gray-District 5, Jeff Johnson-District 3.